Not a fan of one of the genres?

(You can't hide all the genres)

Mixdown tips from Anderson T

For all Hardstyle tutorials regarding DJ'ing and Producing

Postby andytf » 09 Dec 2010, 18:21

Hey everyone.

To who doesn't know me, I'm Anderson Tomaz, also known as Anderson T. I'm a hardstyle DJ and Producer, also, I work as mixdown and mastering engineer. Currently I'm signed to Hard Music Records.

Since I'm the lead engineer from Hard Music Records, I've realized that most of the demos that comes to me are even quite good in the production, but the mixdown, mostly range from bad to terrible.

Since mixdown engineers are quite expensive for all hardstyle labels on scene today (even the biggest ones), the labels prefer to receive audio material that already sound good, without nobody else's touching it. So, I'll write here some quick mixdown that can really improove the overall quality of your track, after you already worked on the creative process of production:

Zero Point: Organize yourself

No matter what you do, if you won't organize your mixer with Busses, Sub-Busses and Channels, write each name on it, like "Qlimax Lead" and "Lead Bus", "Snares" and "Percurssion Bus", stuff like that, you won't be able to find yourself in your own mixer, and the result of this: Bad ass mixing.

First of all: Stereo field

Work on the stereo field of all channels, all instruments, everything. And "working on stereo field" is not about apply pan to an mono or stereo audio signal. Is beyond that, is working the spacial image of each instrument on the track. There is a lot of plugins to help you to do that, like Flux Stereo Tool (Freeware), some good goniometer and other great stereo tools, such as PSP Stereo Pack ( I really love this one, by the way ) and Algorithmix K-Stereo ( Expensive, but the best ).

Second Point: Equalize All