Not a fan of one of the genres?

(You can't hide all the genres)

Virtual DJ removes compression/limiting?

Share knowledge about DJ'ing here (Shared HS/HC)

Postby Rythlectionz » 02 Oct 2015, 23:36

Hello everyone, not sure if someone already noticed that, maybe it's even a very nooby question lol (should mention I'm very new to the whole DJing) but somehow Virtual DJ seems to be able to remove the compression/limiting that was used in the mastering process of a track. I noticed that when recording a set while practising.

I made a screenshot to give you a better example of what i mean.

Here you see „On your mark“ by Atmozfears. Above the original studio version and below the one that comes from the Virtual DJ output. (or is it maybe the Controller that is removing all compression?). And i guess you can clearly see how all the transients are not getting cut off like above. Now I'm really wondering how that is possible. I alwas thought once a track is mastered the compression cant be undone anymore. Pls don't get me wrong. I'm not complaining about that. Actually I'm kinda excited to see that there is something you could do when you're not that huge fan of the louderness war lol
Rythlectionz (30)
State Newcomer

Postby ID » 03 Oct 2015, 00:05

Use Traktor, probel solved !
ID
State Senior Citizen

Postby Rythlectionz » 03 Oct 2015, 00:36

No pls dont get me wrong. Like i said. It's not a problem for me. I'm just curious about how it's possible that a programm can bring a track back to the state when it wasn't mastered. ;)
Rythlectionz (30)
State Newcomer

Postby Thrice » 03 Oct 2015, 03:13

http://www.google.com/patents/US20140358556

It's basically only a recreation attempt. It's not the real uncompressed version.
You could test this with your own track.

1. Create an uncompressed Track
2. Save another version with heavy compression
3. Load the compressed version into Virtual DJ
4. Compare "repaired" version with original uncompressed version
5. Post results ;)