Not a fan of one of the genres?

(You can't hide all the genres)

What plugins do i need to make hardstyle/hardcore

All about Software and Hardware (Shared HS/HC)

Postby TheShuffler » 14 Mar 2018, 21:05

Hello I am new to FL studio 12 (and electronic music production in general) and I want to know what plugins you guys use.
TheShuffler
State Newcomer

Postby Henrik » 14 Mar 2018, 22:24

Synths:

Sylenth
Massive
Spire
Dune
Virus TI
Nexus
Kontakt

FX:
Waves
Filterbank
Ohmicide
Trash2
Ozone8
VPS Bundle
Fabfilter
UAD

and a bunch of stock Logic X Plugins

For hardstyle and hardcore all you basically need is a ton of reverb, a good eq (standart fl one should do the job) and one or two good distortions. the rest comes to taste and experience. for the beginnning i'd suggest you to dive into sylenth1, so you get a universal understanding on how subtractive synthesis works.
Go hard or go home
Henrik (28)
State Newcomer

Postby Ilidien » 15 Mar 2018, 05:29

I would add harmor to that list and probably remove nexus as soon as you feel comfortable without it,
Also fl's stock distortion plugin waveshaper gives you a lot of flexibility (esp the asymmetrical mode)
Lastly i think serum is missing from this list. personally dont really like using kontakt but it is great.
Ilidien (23)
State Tourist

Postby Valadia » 15 Mar 2018, 12:34

Don't listen to Henrik. The only thing you need is Sausage Fattener.
Nah, just kidding. Henrik and Ilidien already made pretty good suggestions and these are the most common used plugins in the hardstyle scene. Some synths I would still suggest are;

Kick2 - It's my favourite kick synth and it gives you a lot of freedom to do whatever you want with the kick. Also, I really like the visual representation, so you can actually see what you're doing to the waveform.

Rob Papen's RAW - It's an awesome subtractive synth, specially designed for sound design which is heavily distorted. I use this for a lot of my leads and screeches and it works awesome.